CTG, University at Albany, and China National School of Administration Collaborate on Award Winning Paper for the 2009 Hawaii International Conference on System Sciences

Feb. 26, 2009

HICSS 42 AwardCTG deputy director Theresa Pardo and public administration doctoral student and CTG graduate assistant, Lei Zheng, accepted the Best Paper Award in the E-Government Track from Jochen Scholl (far right), chair of the E-Government Track.

HICSS one of the oldest and most influential system sciences conferences, is a forum for the exchange of ideas among research and development communities from around the world. Since 2001, CTG has played an active leadership role in integrating E-Government within the overall research agenda at HICSS. E-Government, which began as a single minitrack at HICSS in 2001, is now a major conference track with eight separate minitracks.

At this year’s conference, HICSS-42, CTG deputy director Theresa Pardo and public administration doctoral student and CTG graduate assistant, Lei Zheng, were present to accept the Best Paper Award in the E-Government Track. The paper, Understanding the “Boundary” in Information Sharing and Integration, was also co-authored by Tung-Mou Yang, a graduate student from the College of Computing and Information, University at Albany, and Yuanfu Jiang, director of the E-Government Research Center, China National School of Administration.

CTG staff were also involved in three additional papers presented at the conference:

  • Information Sharing at National Borders: Extending the Utility of Border Theory, Theresa Pardo, Celene A. Navarrete, Claremont Graduate University, Sehl Mellouli, Laval University, and J. Ramon Gil Garcia, CTG research fellow.
  • Conducting Web-Based Surveys of Government Practitioners in Social Sciences: Practical Lessons for E-Government Researchers, J. Ramon Gil-Garcia, Sara Berg, former CTG graduate assistant, Theresa Pardo, G. Brian Burke, CTG senior program associate, and Ahmet Guler, CTG graduate assistant.
  • Longitudinal Analysis of the Effects of IT Characteristics on Web Site Ratings Across State Governments in the US (2001-2006), Gabriel Puron Cid, Rockefeller College of Public Affairs and Policy, J. Ramon Gil-Garcia, and Theresa Pardo.

As in past years, CTG played a role in organizing the E-Government Track at HICSS. This year, Theresa Pardo served as one of the co-chairs of the Emerging Trends in E-Government minitrack with Karine Barzilai-Nahon (Center for Information and Society, The Information School, University of Washington), Lawrence E. Brandt (U.S. National Science Foundation), and Bjoern Niehaves (European Research Center for Information Systems). The Emerging Trends minitrack provides a venue for researchers to explore new trends in the direction and practice of E-Government.

Theresa was also involved in the organization of the afternoon portion of the Global Electronic Government Research and Practice Symposium at the conference, which was devoted to a discussion titled Identifying Grand Challenges of Transformative Research on Information Technology. The other co-organizers of the afternoon session were Jochen Scholl of the Information School at the University of Washington and Jing Zhang of Clark University.