Smart Cities Smart Government Research-Practice Consortium


Project started on Aug. 6, 2015 (Still Active)

Smart Cities and Smart Governments Research-Practice Consortium

For more information or to become a member, contact Meghan Cook at

The Smart Cities and Smart Governments Research-Practice Consortium is a robust global smart cities research community that focuses on innovations in technology, management, and policy that change the fabric of the world’s cities.

Through networking and connected research, the Consortium shares ideas, new knowledge, research, and practice innovations in the interest of increasing opportunities for all who live, and work, in these cities.

The SCSGRP Consortium is based at the Center for Technology in Government at the University at Albany, State University of New York.

The Consortium

  • Formally connects those engaged in cutting-edge research on smart cities
  • Supports the development of a connected smart cities research community
  • Creates a foundation for interdisciplinary and multi-national research teams
  • Provides a network to support knowledge sharing

Frank Bannister - Trinity College of Dublin (Dublin, Ireland)

Elsa Estevez - Universidad Nacional del Sur (Buenos Aires, Argentina)

Sherri Greenburg - The University of Texas at Austin (Austin, Texas, United States)

Euripides Loukis, Yannis Charalabidis - University of the Aegean (Lesvos, Greece)

Albert Meijer - Utrecht University (Utrecht, Netherlands)

Sehl Mellouli, Jacqueline Corbett - Laval University (Quebec City, Canada)

Marie Ann Macadar Moron - COPPEAD – UFRJ (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil)

Gabriela Viale Pereira - Donau-Universitat Krems (Krems, Austria)

Gabriel Puron Cid - Centro de Investigacion y Docencia Economicas, A.C. (CIDE) (Aguascalientes, Mexico)

Charles Jennings - City University of New York (New York, New York, United States)

Hans Jochen Scholl - University of Washington (Seattle, Washington, United States)

Evert-Jan Mulder - PBLQ (The Hague, Netherlands)

Lei Zheng - Fudan University (Shanghai, China)

Manuel Pedro Rodriguez Bolivar - University of Granada (Granada, Spain)

Marius Rohde Johannessen Lasse Berntzen - University College of Southeast Norway (Kongsberg, Norway)

Olga Gil - Universidad Complutense de Madrid (Madrid, Spain)

Andreea Molnar - Swinburne University (Melbourne, Australia) 

Tung-Mou Yang - National Taiwan University (Taipei, Taiwan (R.O.C.))

Ulf Melin - Linkoping University (Linkoping, Sweden)

Margit Scholl - Technische Hochschule Wildau (Berlin, Germany)

Gianluigi Viscusi - Imperial College London (London, United Kingdom)

Taewoo Nam - Sungkyunkwan University (Seoul, South Korea)

Adegboyega Ojo - National University of Ireland (Galway Republic of Ireland)

Theresa Pardo, Meghan Cook, J. Ramon Gil-Garcia, Luis Luna-Reyes, Mila Gasco-Hernandez - CTG UAlbany (Albany, New York, United States)

Marco Antonio Peres Useche - Externado of Colombia University (Bogota, Columbia)

Rodrigo Sandoval - State Autonomous University of Mexico (Toluca, Mexico)

Andrea Maurino - University of Milano-Bicocca (Milan, Italy)

Ralf-Martin Soe - Tallinn University of Technology (Tallinn, Estonia)

Beatriz Barreto Brasileiro Lanza - Federal University of Parana & Pontifical Catholic University (Curitiba, Brazil)

Maria Alexandra Cunha - Fundacao Getulio Vargas (Sao Paulo, Brazil)

Amitrajit Sarkar - Ara Institute (Canterbury, New Zealand)

Atreyi Kankanhalli- National University of Singapore (Singapore)

Tomasz Janowski - Gdansk University of Technology (Gdansk, Poland)

Delfina Soares, Soumaya Ben Dhaou, Mercy Makpor, Morten Meyerhoff, Judy Backhouse - United Nations University Operating Unit on Policy-Driven Electronic Governance (Guimarães, Portugal)